CURRENT PLEDGES: 103794


Twitter Chats during World Antibiotic Awareness Week 2020

Global Twitter Storm

Join the Global #AntimicrobialResistance Twitter Storm  on Wednesday 18 November 2020  1-2PM GMT (9-10AM ET)

WHO, US CDC, ECDC, key partners and Member States are participating in a Twitter storm to send a unified message about taking action against antibiotic resistance. Join us and amplify the message by copying and pasting the text below into twitter, add the image below or another relevant AMR image.

 

#WorldAntimicrobialAwarenessWeek (#WAAW) & #EAAD: #AntimicrobialResistance is one of the most urgent global threats to health. Antimicrobials including antibiotics can cause side-effects such as diarrhoea and contribute to the development of resistance.

Be an #AntibioticGuardian

 

If you are in the UK, do remember to add #AntibioticGuardian and #KeepAntibioticsWorking to your tweets to spread the message. If you are based in other countries/regions, use your national hashtags for AMR messages


 

#ProtectAntibioticsZA:

Why do we need ubuntu for antimicrobial resistance in South Africa”

TWITTER CHAT

Date: 24 November 2020
Time: 
19:00 SAST, CAT | 20:00 EAT | 17:00 BST | 13:00 EST | 18:00 CET
Hashtag: #ProtectAntibioticsZA

Moderator: @hcsmSA


The Tripartite Executive Committee has decided to fix the World Antimicrobial Awareness Week dates to 18-24 November every year starting from 2020. The slogan for 2020 will be “Antimicrobials: handle with care” applicable to all sectors. The theme for the human health sector for WAAW 2020 is “United to preserve antimicrobials“. [1]

Join us for a 60-minute session with our panel experts. All stakeholders including medical professionals, healthcare workers, patients and the public, payers, policymakers, academics, entrepreneurs, veterinarians, environmental experts, farmers, etc. locally and globally are welcome. The public transcript will be recorded by Symplur.

Find out more via https://www.hcsmsa.co.za/antimicrobial-resistance-collective-action/


QUESTIONS:

T1: Why does working together matter to antimicrobial resistance?

T2: Who should be working together to tackle antimicrobial resistance?

T3: What barriers exist to tackle antimicrobial resistance locally, and globally?

T4: What can we do to promote collective action for antimicrobial resistance in South Africa?

CT: (Closing Thoughts): Is there anything you feel is important to add to this conversation?

 


HOW TO PARTICIPATE:

Start your answers with T1, T2, T3, T4 or CT for transcript purposes.
Answer only after the moderator prompts. Questions will be prompted every 10 minutes, but keep answers coming using the relevant T and number. Both panel experts and public attendees are encouraged to participate.
Use the #ProtectAntibioticsZA hashtag in all tweets so you are visible to others in the chat.

Everyone is welcome to join locally and globally. Our transcript will be recorded on www.symplur.com.

 

#AfricaWAAW

How can we improve awareness for antimicrobial resistance in Africa?

Date: Saturday, 21 November 2020
Time: 18:30 SAST, CAT | 19:30 EAT | 17:30 WAT, CET | 16:30 BST | 12:30 EST
Hashtag: #AfricaWAAW
Moderator: @hcsmAFRICA (Vanessa Carter)

Join us for a 60-minute Twitter chat to share your views about how we can increase awareness for antimicrobial resistance in Africa. All stakeholders including healthcare professionals, civil society, policymakers, journalists, nurses, medical researchers, IT experts, veterinarians, pharma, students etc. locally and globally are welcome. The public transcript will be recorded by Symplur.
To participate, use the hashtag #AfricaWAAW


QUESTIONS:

T1: Why is it important to improve awareness about antimicrobial resistance in Africa?
T2: Which stakeholders matter in controlling antimicrobial resistance?
T3: How do you think we can improve awareness of antimicrobial resistance among all stakeholders?
T4. What barriers make it difficult to improve awareness about antimicrobial resistance in Africa?
T5: How would you describe antimicrobial resistance to others? (e.g. another language, or plain language)
CT: Do you have anything you want to add about antimicrobial resistance awareness in Africa?

TOPIC:
During this 1-hour Twitter chat, the Africa Union, Africa Regional Tripartite (FAO, OIE and WHO) and UNEP want to hear your thoughts about how we can increase awareness for antimicrobial resistance in Africa.

Find out more via https://africacdc.org/event/how-can-we-improve-awareness-for-antimicrobial-resistance-in-africa/