Antibiotic Guardian Logo

Antibiotic Guardian Awards 2017 – Winners and Highly Commended

The second Antibiotic Guardian awards took place on 8th June to celebrate the work of healthcare professionals across England in tackling antimicrobial resistance. These awards form part of the ongoing Antibiotic Guardian campaign which is led by Public Health England in collaboration with UK devolved administrations and professional bodies.


The evening was attended by healthcare organisations across England who had all submitted entries and then shortlisted for their achievements in work to help combat antibiotic resistance and protect antibiotic usage. Awards were given in the following categories: Community Engagement, Community – Communications, Prescribing and Stewardship, Innovation, Children and Family Student of the year and Staff Engagement and jointly presented by Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for England, Dr Keith Ridge and Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope (lead for the Antibiotic Guardian campaign and Pharmacist Lead for the AMR Programme at Public Health England)



Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope, Lead for the Antibiotic Guardian campaign, said:

“The Antibiotic Guardian awards are an excellent opportunity for us to champion organisations and individuals who have supported the Antibiotic Guardian campaign and demonstrated achievement in their work to tackle antimicrobial resistance, one of the biggest global public health threats we face.

“These awards have highlighted the wealth of fantastic work taking place across the country in combating antimicrobial resistance. I’d like to personally congratulate all the nominees and winners for their contributions.

“At Public Health England we will continue to support and work with partners across the health system to improve antimicrobial prescribing and stewardship programmes.”


Click here to view the winners and highly commended entries and find out more about their projects


Gratitude to 4AllofUs who organised the Awards on our behalf.

The third Antibiotic Guardian awards will be hosted in 2018