Antibiotic Guardian Logo

Antibiotic Guardian 2022/23 Shared Learning & Awards

The sixth Antibiotic Guardian Shared Learning and Awards event was held on 2nd May 2023, the shortlisted entries were announced during World Antimicrobial Awareness Week 2022

Click here to view shortlist announced 23 November 2022


Click here to view winners and highly commended announced at the shared learning event on 5th May 2023


The call for entries closed on Tuesday 30th August 2022.

Highlights of virtual award ceremony in 2020

Highlights of the in-person award ceremony 2019

Join us as we host the sixth Antibiotic Guardian Shared Learning Awards event, championing organisations and individuals who have demonstrated achievements in tackling antimicrobial resistance at a local, regional or national level.

Has your organisation demonstrated success in working within the community to promote Antibiotic Guardian? Perhaps you have implemented an effective prescription monitoring system to support the conservation of antibiotics?

If so, then we want to hear from you. The awards provide you and your organisation with a chance to highlight the continuous good work being carried out to support the key aims and goals of Antibiotic Guardian. This prestigious occasion is a great opportunity to reward you and your colleague’s success whilst networking with peers and health professionals to share ideas on this global challenge.

To enter is simple, below is a list of categories for the Awards with an entry form underneath which must be filled in and submitted to us alongside a project poster and short video. See below for full entry requirements.

The shortlisted organisations and individuals will be announced in during World Antimicrobial Awareness Week, following a judging period conducted by senior leaders working within the fields of health.

The poster and short video for shortlisted entries will be used during the event and also held on the shared learning pages of the Antibiotic Guardian website.


Book your place to register your attendance at the Awards

Entrant submission requirements:

Entrants are required to submit a poster and short presentation video as part of the application process. It is the content of the poster that will be judged as part of the shortlisting process.

As with previous years, submitted posters and videos will be shared on social media channels and on the Antibiotic Guardian website. By sending the video you are giving consent for it to be shared.

The conference-style poster is an opportunity to provide detail about your project as well as additional supporting data, images etc. Poster are required to be submitted in both .ppt and .pdf formats. we recommend producing in landscape 16 x 9 format on Microsoft PowerPoint.

The poster will be judged against content in the following domains, which entrants are asked to include as text in the entry form, in addition to the submitted poster.

  • Project Overview
  • Examples of project impact
  • How the project will be developed in future

Below are the details of video requirements (a mobile device can be used):

  • MP4 format
  • Filmed with the device held in landscape format
  • Maximum 2 minutes in length
  • To include your head and shoulders against a plain background
  • Whilst speaking, ensure to include your name(s), organisation and the title of your project, a brief summary of your project, key outcomes, and planned next steps.

Award Categories include:

  • Diagnostic Stewardship: Entries should demonstrate effective use of diagnostics to reduce prescribing
  • Prescribing and Stewardship: Entrants should demonstrate how the project has measured antimicrobial usage or improved prudent use of antimicrobials within the organisation
  • Community Communications: Entry should highlight how staff or the organisation has promoted Antibiotic Guardian or stewardship within their community and should indicate the communication methods used to engage
  • Public Engagement: Entries should demonstrate significant public engagement to tackle AMR
  • Innovation and Technology: Entry should highlight how technology has enabled the promotion of antibiotic stewardship and should be able to demonstrate actual use of technology or innovation within their project with examples
  • Infection Prevention and Control: Entries should demonstrate improvements in infection prevention and control practices or interventions to tackle AMR
  • Research: Entries should demonstrate how their entry has addressed a key aspect of antibiotic stewardship via a research programme or initiative
  • Animal Health, Agriculture and Food Supply: Entries should demonstrate antibiotic stewardship in the agriculture and food sector
  • Children & Family: Entries from campaigns that focused on children or individuals that have completed Junior/Family antibiotic guardian badges, e-bug activities or other antimicrobial resistance/infection prevention activities
  • Health Student of the Year: Healthcare students who have led initiatives around antibiotic awareness or Antibiotic Guardian should apply.
  • Multi-country collaborations and activities to tackle AMR: partnerships between more than one country in any area of AMR; performed by organisations
  • NEW FOR 2022: COVID-19 learning: This new category is for projects that have utilised learning from the COVID-19 pandemic to help tackle AMR, or unique interventions to mitigate against AMR during the COVID-19 pandemic
  • The Das Pillay Antimicrobial Stewardship Memorial Award: This award is to recognise innovation the field of antimicrobial stewardship at a junior level. The nomination may occur through others or through self-nomination. The award is open to junior doctors, nurses and pharmacists who have excelled in delivering antimicrobial stewardship quality improvement.
    We would welcome nominations from:

    • Doctors up to Specialist Trainee Level
    • Nursing staff up to Band 7
    • Pharmacists up to band 7

To nominate your project for an award please complete one of the entry forms below.

Deadline for entries: Tuesday 30th August 2022

Das Pillay AMS Award 

Click here for the entry form to submit for any of the categories except the Das Pillay AMS Memorial Award 
Click here for the entry form for the Das Pillay Antimicrobial Stewardship Memorial Award