Antibiotic Guardian Logo

Shortlist: Antibiotic Guardian 2020 Shared Learning Event

The 2020 short-listed organisations and individuals in alphabetical order are listed below

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the awards ceremony will be held as an online event on Thursday 26th November

Details of the registration process will be circulated shortly.

Category Organisation
Animal health, Agriculture and Food Supply Barefoot Lightning Ltd
North Park Veterinary Group Ltd


Children & Family Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
DRASA (Dr. Ameyo Stella Adadevoh) Health Trust
Ducit Blue Foundation
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children
Pfizer ltd
The University of Manchester


Community Communications Healthcare Communications and Social Media South Africa
PHE East of England
Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG
Serufusa Inc.
The University of Manchester


Diagnostic stewardship Somerset Foundation Trust
University College London
Wirral University Teaching Hospital


Infection prevention and control Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust
Makerere University School of Public Health
Innovation & Technology (category sponsored by


Belfast Heath and Social Care Trust
Cardiff University, School of Medicine
First Arabian Drug Information Centre (FADIC)
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children
Makerere University School of Public Health
Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust and University of Manchester
NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
Nottingham Trent University


Prescribing & stewardship Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals
Boots UK Ltd
Entebbe Regional Referral Hospital
Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Infectious Diseases Institute – Makerere University
Prime Hospital – Dubai
Royal Pharmaceutical Society
University Hospital Southampton NHSFT
West Hampshire CCG
West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust


Public engagement Antibiotic Research UK
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Foundation Trust
Roll Back Antimicrobial resistance Initiative (RBA Initiative)
Spanish Agency of Medicines and Medical Devices (AEMPS)
University of Liverpool
University of Reading


Research (category sponsored by

The AMR Centre)

Aviva Investors and The University of Cambridge
Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children
University College Dublin
University of Leeds


Student of the Year Barts and The London School of Medicine (Olivia Knowles)
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (Daniel Kariuki Waruingi)
Tanzania Pharmaceutical Students Association (Castory Munishi)
University of Calabar (Isaac Ogunkola)
University of Cambridge (Chioma Achi)


Multi-Country Collaboration Africa CDC
Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals, University Teaching Hospital – Lusaka, Brighton & Sussex Medical School, University of Zambia, University of Brighton, University of Sussex
Commonwealth Pharmacists Association (CPA) and Tropical Health and Education Trust (THET)
European Wound Management Association
Gulu-Manchester link
Healthcare Improvement Scotland
Makerere University School of Public Health
Norfolk and Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust
University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in partnership with University of Health and Allied Sciences and Ho Teaching Hospital
University of Salford


Das Pillay AMS Organisation of nominee (Name of  nominee)
Aaron Brady (Belfast Health & Social Care Trust)
Balram Rathish (Aster Medcity, Kochi, India)
Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust (Bee Yean Ng)
Wendy Thompson (University of Leeds)

Shortlisting/Judging Panel


Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope – Chair Antibiotic Guardian campaign and WAAW/EAAD planning group (England); Lead Pharmacist, Antimicrobial Resistance Programme, Public Health England

Ms Rosie Allison – Research Project Support Officer, Primary Care Unit, HCAI & AMR Division, Public Health England

Ms Elizabeth Beech – National Project Lead, Antimicrobial Resistance, NHS England & NHS Improvement

Mr Scott Buckler – Antibiotic Guardian Awards Manager, 4AllofUs

Dr Alicia Demirjian – Epidemiologist, HCAI & AMR Division, Public Health England; Consultant in Paediatric Infectious Disease & Immunology, Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Abid Hussain – Consultant Medical Microbiologist, University Hospitals Birmingham

Ms Fran Husson – Lay member, English Surveillance Programme for Antimicrobial Utilisation and Resistance

Ms Leah Jones – Health Psychologist in training and Research Project Support Officer, Public Health England

Mr Chris Lloyd – Responsible Use of Medicines in Agriculture Alliance

Mr Olaolu Oloyede – Chief Pharmaceutical Officer’s Clinical Fellow 2018/19. Associate HTA & OR Manager, MSD

Ms Alexandra Pickering – Veterinary Medicines Directorate, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Mr Niloy Acharyya – AMR National Policy Lead, Veterinary Medicines Directorate

Mr Fraser Broadfoot – Antimicrobial Usage Lead, Antimicrobial Resistance, Policy and Surveillance Team, Veterinary Medicines Directorate

Ms Penny Greenwood – Associate Lead Nurse- Children, Young People and Families, Public Health England

Ms Belinda Lowe – Public Health England

Ms Claire Brandish – Anti-Infectives Pharmacist, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS trust

Ms Ellie Bayne – Antibiotic Guardian Student Representative

Mr Jordan Charlesworth – Programme Officer, HCAI & AMR Division, Public Health England

Ms Aoife Hendrick – Chief Pharmaceutical Officer’s Clinical Fellow, Public Health England

Ms Angela Douglas – Deputy Chief Scientific Officer, NHS England & Improvement

Dr Lisa Ritchie – Head of Infection Prevention & Control, NHS England & Improvement

Ms Jane Codd – Senior Infection Prevention Nurse, University Hospitals Birmingham

Ms Carole Fry – Infection Prevention & Control Lead, Public Health England

Ms Valya Weston – Honorary Secretary, Infection Prevention Society

Ms Alice Coburn – Education Officer, The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry

Mr Grahame Hood – Pharmacy Programme Manager (Specialised Commissioning), NHS England & Improvement

Mr Shahzad Razaq – Principal Pharmacist Medicine & Anti-Infectives, University Hospitals Birmingham

Ms Katherine Le Bosquet – Lead Pharmacist for Frailty and Elderly Medicine, Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Ms Anisha Soni – Chief Pharmaceutical Officer’s Clinical Fellow, NHS England & Improvement

Ms Frances Garraghan – Lead antimicrobial stewardship pharmacist, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Ashley Sharp – Senior Epidemiologist & Deputy Director of Operations, Public Health England

Ms Regan McCahill – President, British Pharmaceutical Students’ Association

Dr Sheuli Porkess – Executive Director, Research, Medical and Innovation, The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry

Mr Mohamed Sadak – Clinical Lead and Programme Manager, Antimicrobial Resistance and Sepsis, Health Education England

Dr Jacqueline Sneddon – Project Lead, Scottish Antimicrobial Prescribing Group, Health Improvement Scotland

Ms Eno Umoh – National Infection Service Global Health Programme Management, Public Health England

Ms Samrina Bhatti – Chief Pharmaceutical Officer’s Clinical Fellow 2018/19.  Manager, Centre for Health Solutions, Deloitte