Antibiotic Guardian Logo

Shortlist: Antibiotic Guardian 2022/23 Shared Learning Event and Awards

Click here to register for the Antibiotic Guardian Shared Learning Event and Awards

The 2022/23 short-listed organisations and individuals are listed below in alphabetical order. There were no entries for the Student of the Year and Infection Prevention and Control Categories

The Antibiotic Guardian Shared Learning & Awards event will be held in spring 2023. Details of the registration process will be circulated in due course.

Category Organisation
Animal health, Agriculture and Food Supply Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board
Arwain DGC
  RCVS Knowledge


Children & Family RBA Initiative


Community Communications Arwain DGC
FDI Antibiotics Working Group
The LaunchBox and RUMA


Diagnostic stewardship Digital Health and Care Wales/Cardiff University
Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust  – Blood culture pathway project


Innovation & Technology Commonwealth Pharmacists Association – AMS Game project
NHS England & Royal Wolverhampton Trust – Dental Antimicrobial Prescribing Regional Action Plan Project
  United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust – IV-oral switch clinical decision tool project


Prescribing & stewardship Commonwealth Pharmacists Association – SPARC project
Arwain DGC
NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde – Promoting oral metronidazole project


Public engagement County Durham MO team (NENC ICB)
  Ducit Blue Foundation
NHS Birmingham and Solihull ICB
Roll Back Antimicrobial resistance Initiative (RBA Initiative)
University of Liverpool – Antimicrobial Resistance Citizens’ Jury project


Research King’s College London – Institute of Liver Sciences
Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford & University of Leeds and Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust – Managing penicillin allergy in primary care project
The University of Oxford – Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences – AMR Infographics project


Multi-Country Collaboration Nottingham Trent University and Makerere University

Tropical Health and Education Trust (THET)



COVID-19 Learning University of Oxford Primary Care Clinical Trials Unit – Rigorous, randomised controlled trial results from the PRINCIPLE Trial
Nottingham University Hospitals – Antifungal Stewardship in ventilated Covid-19 patients
University Hospital Southampton – COVID vaccine allergy service – providing reassurance to encourage vaccination


Das Pillay AMS Name of nominee (Organisation of nominee)
Aarash Ahmadi (Buchinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust)
Alexander Rond-Allison (East Cheshire NHS Trust)
Shima Chundoo (NHS England)



Shortlisting/Judging Panel:

Dr Aaron Brady – Lead Antimicrobial Pharmacist, Belfast Health & Social Care Trust

Dr Abid Hussain – Consultant Medical Microbiologist, University Hospitals Birmingham

Ms Amy Jackson – Senior Project Manager, UK Health Security Agency

Ms Carole Fry – Infection Prevention & Control Lead, UK Health Security Agency

Mrs Claire Brandish – Anti-Infectives Pharmacist, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Dr Conor Jamieson – Regional AMS Lead, NHS England

Prof Diane Ashiru-Oredope – National Lead, Antibiotic Guardian campaign and WAAW/EAAD planning group (England); Lead Pharmacist, Antimicrobial Resistance Programme, UK Health Security Agency

Ms Elizabeth Beech – Regional AMS Lead, NHS England

Ms Ella Casale – Interim TB/AMR Programme Manager, UKHSA East of England; AMR Programme Officer, UK Health Security Agency

Dr Emma Budd – Senior Scientist (Epidemiology), UK Health Security Agency

Ms Eno Umoh – Scientific Coordinator, Imperial College London

Mrs Fran Garraghan – Antimicrobial stewardship pharmacist, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

Ms Fran Husson – Public Partner/Lay Member, English Surveillance Programme for Antimicrobial Utilisation and Resistance

Prof James Wood – Dean of Cambridge Veterinary School, University of Cambridge

Mr Jonathan Underhill – Consultant Clinical Adviser – NICE

Mr Jordan Charlesworth – Programme Manager – COVID-19 Therapeutics Programme, UKHSA

Dr Julie Robotham – Head of Modelling & Evaluations, UK Health Security Agency

Ms Katherine Le Bosquet – Lead Pharmacist for Frailty and Elderly Medicine, Medway NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Lisa Ritchie – Head of Infection Prevention & Control, NHS England

Dr Louise Dunsmure – Consultant Pharmacist – Antimicrobial Stewardship, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Mariyam Mirfenderesky – Consultant Medical Microbiologist, UK Health Security Agency

Mr Michael Corley – Head of Policy & Public Affairs, BSAC

Dr Musarrat Afza – Consultant in Communicable Disease Control, UK Health Security Agency

Dr Naomi Fleming – Regional AMS Lead, NHS England

Mr Peter Boriello – Former Chief Executive, Veterinary Medicines Directorate

Prof Philip Howard – Regional AMS Lead, NHS England

Ms Preety Ramdut – Regional AMS Lead, NHS England

Ms Rita Huyton – Nurse Consultant, UK Health Security Agency

Ms Rosemary Stevenson – Scientific programme lead, NHS England

Ms Sejal Parekh – Senior Policy Manager, NHS England

Prof Tracey Thronley – Head of Clinical Research & Outcomes, Boots UK

Dr William Welfare – Consultant in Health Protection, UK Health Security Agency

Dr Yvonne Dailey – Consultant in Dental Public Health, UK Health Security Agency