Antibiotic Guardian Logo

Antibiotic Guardian 2017 Awards Shortlist

Join us on Thursday June 8th 2017 in London as we host the second Antibiotic Guardian Awards championing those organisations and individuals who have demonstrated achievement in tackling antimicrobial resistance at a local, regional or national level.

The short-listed organisations are:


  • Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust
  • NHS Leeds North Clinical Commissioning Group
  • NHS Sandwell and West Birmingham CCG

Prescribing and Stewardship

  • Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board
  • Birmingham CrossCity CCG
  • Leeds North CCG
  • NHS Tayside
  • The Nottinghamshire Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee
  • University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust


  • Attenborough Surgery
  • Office of the Chief Scientific Officer, NHS England
  • Middlesex University

Staff Engagement

  • Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board
  • Berkshire Healthcare Foundation NHS Trust (BHFT)
  • NHS Tayside (Jo McEwen)
  • NHS Tayside (Sarah Thomson)
  • St George’s University NHS Foundation Trust
  • University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust

Community – Communications

  • Wiltshire Council
  • Borderpoint Films
  • The University of Manchester
  • NHS Leeds West Clinical Commissioning Group
  • British Veterinary Association

Community – Engagement

  • Bracknell Forest Council – on behalf of Berkshire Antimicrobial Stewardship Network
  • NHS Bath and North East Somerset
  • NHS Leeds North Clinical Commissioning Group
  • NHS Southwark CCG
  • Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Public Health England South West
  • Shropshire Clinical Commisioning Group

Children and Family

  • Newent Community School and Sixth Form
  • NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • NHS Leeds North Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
  • West Lancashire Scouts

Healthcare Student 

  • Clarissa Hemmingsen – University of Manchester
  • Lydia Bagg – University of Manchester
  • Osenadia Joseph-Ebare – Kings College London


Shortlisting/Judging Panel

Dr Diane Ashiru-Oredope – Chair Antibiotic Guardian campaign and WAAW/EAAD planning group (England); Lead Pharmacist Lead, AMR Programme, Public Health England
Ms Jane Binyon – Lay Member,  DH Advisory Committee on Antimicrobial Resistance and Healthcare Associated Infection (ARHAI)

Mrs Joanne Bosanquet MBE – Deputy Chief Nurse, Public Health England

Mr Stuart Brown –  Acting Chief Pharmacist, University Hospital Of North Durham

Ms Elizabeth Beech – AMR Project Lead, NHS Improvement 

Ms Clare Cook – Senior Communications Manager – National Infection Service, Public Health England

Dr Emma Budd – Senior Scientist | Fingertips AMR Local Indicators, Public Health England

Dr Susan Hopkins – Consultant in Infectious Diseases & Microbiology, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust Healthcare Epidemiologist, Public Health England

Mr Philip Howard – AMR Project Lead, NHS Improvement 

Ms Fran Husson – Lay member English Surveillance Programme for Antimicrobial Utilisation and Resistance (ESPAUR)

Brian MacKenna – Clinical Fellow Office of the Chief Pharmaceutical Officer, NHS England

Ms Wendy Nicholson – National Lead Nurse Children, young people & families Public Health England

Miss Lauren Rellis – Social Media Officer, Public Health England

Miss Lara-Turiya Seitz – Rotational Clinical Pharmacist – The Queen Elizabeth Hospital King’s Lynn

Ms Karen Shaw – Infection Prevention and Control Lead, AMR Programme, Public Health England

Dr Jacqueline Sneddon – Project Lead Scottish Antimicrobial Prescribing Group, Chair – UKCPA Pharmacy Infection Network

Sharon White OBE – Professional Officer, School And Public Health Nurses Association

Dr Vicki Young – e-Bug Project Manager, National Infection ServicePublic Health England




For further details about the awards night, venue and ticket costs on June 8th please visit or contact with any enquiries


Click here to find out more about the winning and highly commended entries from 2016 are available